Sid The School Dog

I went for a walk at Lodge Farm for the first time for a while and met this lovely dog. He was with his mistress  - a school mistress - she's in fact head teacher of Holy Cross Primary in Waltham Abbey. He goes to work with her every day and takes part fully in school life. Needless to say he is loved by all.

As we parted I thought she said his name was Syd Barrett. I didn't twig at first and then remembered that was the name of the original Pink Floyd frontman. Good name I thought and topical, with the Pink Floyd: Their Mortal Remains on at the V&A. Silly me. Turns out the dog's name is Sid Barnett. :) 

Today's poem is Lacrimae rerum by Michele Roberts. http://chalybeate.blogspot.co.uk/2007/10/lacrimae-rerum.html

I'm not a classical scholar but I know that lacrimae is to do with tears. I have done quite a bit of reading around the subject of the title which I have found most interesting. This piece in particular. http://www.oscailtmagazine.com/unitarian%20magazine/Lacrimae%20Rerum.html

There are tears at the heart of things. The poem was written when MR's father was dying. I believe she did live a quite chaotic life at times.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.