Macro Linnet

Very sunny and hot when Jazzy and I went out around midday looking for macro subjects. I spotted a little brown bird on the path. (Extras) I thought at first that it was a young dunnock but on closer inspection I could tell it was from the finch family by its beak. It was a fledgling linnet. The poor thing was panting and struggling to fly. I picked it up, cleared an area in the shade underneath a tree and set it down. I tried to sit it in the tree but it was having trouble balancing. While I marvelled at its tiny form in my hand I snapped the above with my macro lens. 

This evening when Jazz and I went for a walk the baby bird wasn't where I had left it and an adult male and female adult linnet were calling liquidly from that tree. I do hope the little one survived.

Today's poem is I,Too by Langston Hughes. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/47558

Hughes is proud to be an American but yearns for equality. This poem makes me think of Mohammed Ali. LH said that he was chosen as class poet at school because of the stereotype that Negroes had rhythm and that is necessary in poetry. That rhythm stood him in good stead. "Many of Hughes' poems, such as "The Weary Blues", sound almost exactly like popular jazz and blues songs of the period, and vice versa."  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.