Apple blossom

I love this time of year. Everything is flourishing in the garden, even the stuff that will come to nothing. I don't have green fingers. I was notorious at university for killing spider plants.

The apple blossom is looking so delicate and pretty, even though I know that the visiting birds, and my  ignorance and neglect, will lead to few, if any apples.

My extra is a forget-me-not, for my maternal grandmother. She was born on this day, in 1889. She was a wonderful, strong but very kind lady. She had decided she wanted to teach, and became one of the original "pupil teachers" as they were called. She worked half a day in the mill, as expected, and did her training for the other half of the day. She made it. She was an inspiration. Thank you for everything and happy birthday, Grandma xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.