Raven with the sun in its beak

I went for a drive this morning to find something new to blip.  A friend had told me that the coffee is really good at the Fernwood Road Cafe, and it didn't disappoint!   I wandered down the Fernwood dock and took some shots that I quite like, but this metal raven with the sun in its beak had to be blipped.  It was perched on the frame of a high window in the cafe; there were some dirty spots on the shot from the window but I'm okay with them.  :) 
The sculpture reminded me of the logo of NITEP,  the Indigenous Teacher Education Program where I worked for most of my career.  So many memories....
"The NITEP logo is based on a legend that comes from the Northwest Coast of BC and is found in one form or another in some Aboriginal cultures.
The legend tells of the time when the earth was in complete darkness. Raven flew through a hole in the sky and took the sun in his beak. He then brought it back through the hole to give light to the earth.
The logo shows Raven with sun in his beak superimposed over a circle that represents a hole in the sky. The NITEP Advisory Committee (renamed the First Nations Education Council in February 1995) thought this would be a fitting symbol because NITEP hopes to bring the light of education to Aboriginal children in a much more effective way than has happened in the past.
The logo was designed by Philip (Opie) Oppenheim, a Ntla’kapmx artist."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.