Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Reserve

In my Sunday morning drive around for a blip I decided to go to a small nature reserve on the outskirts of Penrith, Thacka Beck Reserve. It's run by the Cumbria Wildlife Trust and claims a lot of species for its small size.

There were lots of dog-walkers today but the path was blocked by two men with cameras, one with a 600mm lens on a monopod. I stopped while they were clicking. "Oh, sorry!" The said and stepped aside. "No, no!" I said. "This is what i have come out for!" pulling round my camera. "Where is it and what is it?" I asked.

It turned out to be a Garden Warbler which I have never seen before. My shots weren't good, too far away for my 300mm lens, so I've blipped the reserve instead. Didn't get a shot of the Whitethroat and never saw the Blackcap which they had seen.

The rest of the day was spent doing accounts. I'm not going to leave them to the last minute this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.