MONO MONDAY - NUMBERS

The theme for today’s Mono Monday challenge is Numbers and I wanted to think outside the box - so I thought of the Book that is very important to me, the Bible.  These verses, known as the Aaronic or Priestly Blessing, are found in Numbers Chapter 6 verses 24-26 and I have photographed them from my old Family Bible, which you will see from a previous Blip dates back to 1846.

I learned these verses many years ago, and would have learned it from the King James version, but of course, modern translations have changed it slightly so that the “thee” becomes “you” - but there is something about the way we have learned something that stays with us.

A  much more modern version, The Message, puts it like this:

God bless you and keep you,
God smile on you and gift you,
God look you full in the face
     and make you prosper.

One of my favourite John Rutter songs is entitled The Lord Bless You and Keep You - as you listen to this, I pray that you will be blessed today.

We are blessed
     to be a blessing
          to others.

P.S.  I apologise again for my lack of comments, but I am trying to catch up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.