The Chattri

I first visited the Chattri back in the early 1980s when I was an undergraduate at the University of Sussex. Today I took a longish walk (3.5km each way) over the Downs to see it again for the first time in over three decades: I found it every bit as moving and as peaceful as I remembered.

Today's 'Extra' was taken at the start of my walk this morning. It is of a windmill named 'Jill' on the downs above Clayton, one of a pair (the other one, naturally, named 'Jack'!) visible to train crews on the main London, Brighton & South Coast Railway line as they approach Clayton Tunnel at the start of the final leg of their journey to Brighton.

The story of the mills can be found here (can you remember when just about every site on the Web looked something like this?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.