Frog Symphony

This photograph was taken on Thursday after a lovely picnic in the park with my son Vanja and his dog, Capri. A whole lot of life has been lived since then: Olivia has had surgery on her foot again, and is doing well. I have spent time with her and her mother, renewing bonds. Opportunities for love... The days have sprinted by, and now I am tired after a day of celebrating of my seventy-second birthday with friends and family. I have also spoken with my precious friend, Kendall. And I have danced alone in my studio: a peaceful dance.

On the day of the picnic, I stopped at the alligator pond, thinking of green herons. I had my camera along just in case. As I approached, a sound arose from the watery, green expanse of the pond, and then another. From all sides came the rhythmic yet varied music of the frogs. The volume increased, and lowered, reached crescendos and subsided, came from one direction and then another. I stood in awe for several minutes and then began to search for the source. I scanned the whole area with my camera, zooming in at times. It was a kind of dance, for the music was still playing. Finally, tucked among reeds and twigs, I found him. The jewel-eyed king of the moment, invisibly conducting the music that so astonished me. I imagine that every frog in that pond thought they were the king (or queen) of the moment. If they thought at all...

This year I have been gifted by many a special moment, and I am thankful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.