Leiflife

By Leiflife

The Alligator Pond

No matter my mood or current physical ailments, a visit to the alligator pond can distract and even bring forth a smidgeon of pure joy. I haven't seen grand-daddy alligator lately. It is the smaller more subtle life-forms that engage and attract me. The frogs still sing their alto accompaniment to the soprano melody of the dragonflies' flight. But the little red-cheeked turtles are the dancers: still and moving, balanced on a log protruding from the muddy bank. To me the turtle in my extra seems to be on the verge of lifting. Notice those hind legs stretch behind her, toes spread ecstatically.  Her head is raised as she inhales the humid air, the glorious sunlight. Yet she relaxes into her capacity for soaring. No need to strain. This dance is happening. This pond is where I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.