Leiflife

By Leiflife

A Wildlife Extravaganza

My dear brother, Johnny, called me Tuesday morning to tell me that the baby green herons were growing up fast, and that if I didn't get out to the park soon they might be gone. He knows how much I look forward to seeing the little ones every year, and each time I've gone to look, I have missed them. So he told me exactly where to stand on the little platform looking over the alligator pond, and where to look.

I dressed quickly and hoisted Music into the car for the ride, and drove out there in spite of threatening thunder and drops on the windshield. I was not disappointed, and I wasn't the only one at the pond, though others were there for the elderly and enormous alligator.

First I noted that the alligator was really close to the platform, and I nervously shot a few pictures. Then I looked in the direction Johnny had said to look. Immediately, I saw a yellow-crowned night heron and photographed him, but then I looked a few yards behind him and saw the baby green heron. Actually, he isn't such a baby, but still lots of down...and a plump and babyish rump which he showed me almost the whole time I was there. He was all alone and watching for minnows. Apparently, learning to fish for and feed himself. So I photographed his rump and thought it quite adorable, so here it is.

While this was happening a couple with a very small child appeared. They were the little boy's grandparents from Tennessee, and soon I felt just like part of the family. They were so inclusive and warm. Soon the man was pointing out creatures I hadn't seen. A garter snake (I think) and its mate. I took a photo of one of these. And a moccasin, which he helped me up on a ledge to photograph. That one I simply had to delete. But I kept the touch of the kind man on my arm.

A few extras of the other creatures.... Two of the alligator... I love the one of him floating and partially visible in the water with raindrops on the surface.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.