Common Yellowthroat in Song

After bidding farewell to our friends and their wonderful house we headed down their long driveway.  Marylee had walked it yesterday and seen many birds, especially near the end.  So we stopped there and looked. A fair number of birds were singing but none were really visible.  The most prominent song was the witchity-wichity-wichity of a common yellowthroat, coming from a group of bushes. I stood for a good twenty minutes, catching just glimpses; as I was about to give up he appeared on this clear branch, and sang three times, distinctly faster and more completely  than the recording on the link (I'm listening to it as I write). This may be my best shot ever of this wonderful  songster.

On our way home we stopped at the Shelburne Museum, in the town of that name, and further south for a leisurely supper at my cousin Pat's and her family in Brandon.  Next-day edit: I've added an extra image of our group: Marylee, Pat (aka Poo, first cousin on my father's side), David and Nita with their son Thomas, and Chandra (she and Nita are Pat's daughters).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.