It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

No Sourdough

It was a better day today. In fact, it was more than better! The commute to work was a warm and sunny one without school traffic. The normal queues were non-existent and I got to work 14 mins quicker than on Thursday. This was partially down to the brakes on my cx bike working in the dry.

After a quick check of my emails and a good aeropress coffee I headed across to the Etihad stadium with Charlotte. She had organised a kids cycling session in conjunction with Man City and needed some pics. This was real grass-roots cycling with a few of the kids on bikes that they must have outgrown many years ago. They were really well behaved and seemed to enjoy Joe's session (the coach in the pic). I'm generally critical of football clubs, especially ones that pay their players obscene salaries. However, they do some worthwhile community work too and these children really benefited.

After work I pedalled out to Unicorn for my messages. I love that supermarket.....a veggie's paradise. In fact it's totally vegan and they don't sell sugar so I can't get everything there. The saving grace is that my panniers are small(ish) so I have to limit what I buy anyway. Boooo though as the amazing baker is on holiday and I didn't get my Yorkshire sourdough.

No rest for the wicked, so as soon as I got home I swapped my cycling shorts for running ones. I did 5km with two 6:30min 1500m efforts! I felt sick as they were so hard.....My next goal is to stop comparing my times 8 years ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.