It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Searching for Sugar Man

I've not done a blip for nearly a week. I'm still loving my camera but I'm training hard for the Haddington triathlon in September. It'll be my first one since Ironman Switzerland around 9 years ago! Training is going well and my old knee injury isn't too bad so I'm pretty confident that I'll finish.

I'm still gutted that Vinokourov won Olympic gold yesterday. It's really upsetting when characters like this, with a history of cheating, are victorious. Everyone deserves a 2nd chance but this guy seems to be particularly unsavoury in his contempt for fairplay.

It was a bit disappointing that Hannah Miley didn't win a medal in the pool yesterday too! She's one of my favourite athletes because of her sheer professionalism, focus and her ability to be so damn nice even when things go wrong. Her coach/dad is a model of how a parent should be with a sporty kid! Chapeau the Miley family!

Great news that Lizzie won Silver today though. Maybe if she's attacked with 1km to go she may have won but it seemed a fair result anyway.

My day has been pretty good. Did some domestics first thing and then headed into town to watch the movie Searching for Sugar Man I really enjoyed it and loved the music of Rodriguez, an artist that I've never heard before. I'm pleased that I followed the recommendation not to read the reviews as they would have ruined the story somewhat. A thoroughly recommended watch.

It was a quick turnaround when I got home so that I could get out training. Did a hard 80 min ride and need an early night now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.