Brother and sister

"This"ll be reet good to cycle on when it's proper dried out, like." 
"Aye, I'll bet!"

On the way over to Hawes, heading the other way on the same gorgeous road I'd cycled down just the other week, I was explaining in broad Yorkshire the conversation I'd had with the lovely blokes laying Tarmac. 

We admired the valley, the views. And the new Tarmac. 

Before the top, we'd already decided to stop and breathe in Yorkshire for a while. When we got there, a couple were already parked up, the chap looking through his telescope.  Rich struck up a conversation with him. He talked about his love of birding. And then that he'd brought his wife up here from Sheffield on his day off. 

All because he'd been laying the Tarmac 'down road' and thought she'd enjoy the views. 

Rich and I did a double take.

The very same chap! He was now on to fixing the road behind Kettlewell.

He said, "Aye! Were you the one I said to watch your wheels?!"
And I said, "Aye, that'd be me!"

He was lovely.

This is at the spot where we met them, with Rich’s mum and her brother taking in the Dales.  We went on to have another fabulous day, heading into Hawes, rediscovering Rich's family's holiday venue from years back and finally exploring the waterfalls at Aysgarth. 

All in the dry. Again.

Until the journey home in the car. And then it really didn't matter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.