Cherries, mosaics & willies with wings

In Vienne and St Romain en Gal
I've seen lots of Roman remains,
from pillars, mosaics, et al
to clever construction of drains.

In Vienne and St Romain en Gal,
I've seen lots of wonderful things,
from tall poplars and trees growing cherries
to magical willies with wings.

Vienne and St Romain en Gal lie on opposite banks of the River Rhone; both exhibit lots of evidence of Roman rule from as far back as the first century AD. One ticket took us to several sites and museums. Though my main blip features a bunch of cherries growing in a tree in full fruit (I'd never seen one before), my Extras show a mosaic duck - one of the more modest of some fabulous mosaics - some almost perfectly preserved - from the floors of large, impressive Roman dwellings, and the other shows a Roman phallic amulet. These did not have the erotic connotations that one might think, but assured strength, prosperity, energy and fertility to those carrying one. I'm sorry to lower the tone of my blip journal, but I couldn't help laughing at a willy with wings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.