a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The Steep Hills of Bristol

I'm afraid this is a bit of an emergency blip from me as it is now 23:46.  Its been a busy day, with work and then I had a band rehearsal this evening.  I did get out for a quick 45 minute walk at lunch time, which took me up St Michael's Hill here in Bristol.  

As you can see from this photo of Colston's Almshouses St Michael's hill is quite steep.

Edward Colston's name features large in this part of Bristol  The Colston Hall, Colston Tower, Colston Hill, Street and Avenue as well as various schools.  He was a successful merchant and a member of parliament.  He endowed various schools and almshouses, being quite the philanthropist. 

In more recent years his reputation has become somewhat tarnished (to say the least), as much of his wealth came from the slave trade.  As a result he is now a controversial figure. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.