a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Evening Iris

Wild Wednesday: Yellow

As I left work, cycling home on my evening commute I wondered what on earth I was going to blip today.  It had been one of those busy days at work, when a combination of events and meetings meant that I had not had time for a proper lunch break and no time at all to get out of the office to take any photos.  

Arriving home at 8:30pm the light was not great, it was cloudy and there seemed no prospect of a sunset.  In desperation I started to consider taking something in the garden with a flash.  But then I saw that the yellow irises at the pond's edge had started to flower.  Attaching the nifty fifty to the D750 I ventured outside to take a quick shot.  It had to be quick, firstly because it was by now gone 9pm and what little light was left was disappearing rapidly, and secondly because the biting insects that hover around the pond in the evening, and help feed the damsel flies etc in due course, seem to be very fond of a bit of Greg if they can get it.

Fortunately the soft twilight really suited the flower (I find yellow tricky in any sort of bright light).  In the end, I'm rather pleased with the result.  Its funny how things turn out sometimes isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.