But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Tiny Fern.

Deep in  the woods behind The Chapel stand our two ancient chestnut trees; and, while I didn’t actually measure this particular specimen, I estimated that it would take six adults to give it a hug which would make it’s circumference about 30 feet. About four foot from the ground, growing out of its trunk is this tiny fern, with a span of a mere two inches; I think it’s quite an old specimen, probably several years old but, without much soil, its growth is a wee bit stunted
 
I’m afraid that I take considerable pleasure in such incongruities and, like many others, support the deprived underdogs who struggle on through life when they should really have given up. It’s rather like the small honey bee colony residing at the bottom of the garden that I had expected to succumb last November and, since then, I’ve never considered it likely to survive more than a few weeks, but it struggles on and is beginning to look as though it may have a future after all. As soon as the weather warms up again, I shall give it another dose of medicine and a month’s convalescence and then it may be possible to take it to the Lost Garden apiary and build it up ready for next winter. After all it’s been through, it deserves a break.
 
This afternoon at the Newbattle apiary, accompanied by Tyro and her mentor, I demonstrated how to create two daughter colonies from a strong mother. Really T should have done it herself as she needs the experience, but the weather wasn’t too friendly and the timing was critical so she asked me to do it. She has her own colony at home to practice on, and it will need the attention over the next few weeks;  being pretty smart, T will sail through her exam when it arrives in nearly eight weeks’ time.
 
Thanks are due to Beckett for hosting TT52 this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.