But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

0,1,1,2,3,5,8 . . . . .

Herself is now ensconced in her traditional pursuit of house/dog-sitting making me think that summer has arrived, so some of today was spent installing her in the temporary accommodation. Then my reading group met this afternoon, which was a bit of a letdown, normally it’s rather fun. Our theme today was romance, I managed a poem but had not found the time to select and read a book; the theme for the next meeting is “holiday reading”; the reality is that my choice for our next holiday is likely to be something on Nik software or HDR, neither of which is likely to go down well.
 
Since I’m on the subject of themes, that for today’s MonoMonday is “Numbers,” so I chose the Fibonacci sequence which has been the subject of a blip in the past. Since I couldn’t manage to find pairs of rabbits that  would obligingly line up to illustrate their breeding habits, I selected this flower, a member of the asteraceae family of plants (formerly known as compositae) whose arrangement of florets is also defined by the sequence though, frankly, I’ve never been able to see the connection myself. This particular specimen is a garden escape (there is a cottage with a walled garden only a few feet away), but the precise specie identification is beyond me; there are approximately 23,600 known types from which to choose but, if you include all the unknown ones, the number probably rises to several million including, as it does, the daisies, dandelions, sunflowers and thistles – not to mention all of their friends and relations.
 
It should be pointed out that Fibonacci did not invent or discover the sequence, he introduced it to the western world;  it had already been known to Indian mathematicians for 700 years; I recently discovered that it has acquired a new claim to fame in that the Photoshop crop overlay, “Golden Spiral” is also derived from it.
 
Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting the challenge this month.

And finally . . .  A blip snap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.