AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

one out of 100

what to choose? how to choose? I could have chosen the wonderful weathervane on the top of the Trades House, or the metal sculpture of Promethius in the grounds of Strathclyde Uni, deliberately taken to show it in silhouette (both in my folio in buildings) or the nappy pin sculpture at the site of the old Rottenrow Maternity Hospital, or the many domes, or the.... but I have chosen this photo of the tower of Hutcheson's Hall in Ingram Street, in the Merchant City. I like the contrast of the sandstone building next to it, and the lovely blue clock face. All the clock faces in the Merchant City have these blue faces.

All in all took around 100 photos in the couple of hours we were let loose from the photography day at the Centre for Lifelong Learning at Strathclyde Uni. most are average, some are awful, a few are good. Learned about the keystone effect, where buildings look narrower at the top, discussed perspective, wide angle distortion, and more. But the lightbulb moment for me was the realisation that my photos are always slightly squint, even though I use the gridlines, because I probably press the shutter button too hard!

Great day, tiring, away from the house for 11 hours, though this did inlcude a bite to eat with daughter #2 after she finished work. Not sure how many blips I will catch up with before I fall fast asleep on the keyboard, but hopefully catch up tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.