Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Banded Demoiselle

There were quite a few damselflies about and the odd dragonfly at Thundry Meadows near Elstead in Surrey this evening. I'd gone for a fish and was pleased to catch a Greyling as well as a few trout. Greyling are the prettiest fish and always a sign of clean water.

I hadn't planned on blipping a macro shot as the meadows can produce lovely images if the light is right. But this evening it was simply too harsh. I took one or two images on the Leica I've been loaned but wasn't over keen on them. I'm surprised it does not allow you take images in RAW.

Thundry Meadows has all kinds of interesting wildlife and grasses. The Purple Emperor butterfly is said to be found here but I've never seen one. The place was full of Meadow Browns flitting among the ragwort where cinnabar moth catterpillars were feeding on the leaves. I did get a butterfly shot but chose this one instead. I have to be away to my bed now and up early tomorrow for a day's sailing.

I've just noticed something odd since loading the image. It looks almost black whereas on my computer it has all the shiny deep blue/greens that it should have. I wonder if anyone else has experienced colours being a bit off here?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.