Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Superyacht Cup

A backblip from yesterday at the Superyacht Cup. We took out a Farr 45 in GAC Pindar branding to mix it up with the far bigger superyachts. I had the choice of doing a bit of crewing or doing some photography, and since there were plenty of willing crew - we had world champion match racer Ian Williams pulling on the main sheet - I got the camera out. I put together a small gallery but needed to get rid of a lot of spots on my images. The dust build up on the sensor is getting pretty bad. I also need to shed some pictures off the laptop. This used to be an every few months job. Now it's every couple of weeks.

The Queen was visiting the Royal Yacht Squadron at the start of the day so we hung around a while until she had gone and racing started late. For me, these yachts are not quite the spectacle of the J-Class yachts but there was some powerful stuff on show, including Charles Dunstone's new yacht, Hamilton, a 100 ft long Wally Cento. It's some boat and ran away with the top prize.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.