Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Bursledon Windmill

I'm a sucker for those little brown signs that direct you to places of interest. It was a bit of a morning after the night before, waking up in Cowes today. A bacon sandwich and a coffee revived me just enough to catch the Red Jet ferry back to Southampton, then a taxi to the Hamble marina where the car was parked. Just before joining the M27 I saw a little brown sign pointing out Bursledon Windmill. I'd have probably ignored it were it not for Blipfoto and a slight urge to collect.

I've already blipped at least one windmill so I thought it would be nice to add Hampshire's only working windmill to this one in Brill. I had the place to myself since the windmill only opens one day a week. I rarely use the fish eye lens but thought it might lend itself to the subject and I quite like the way the dirt track sort of complements the circularity of the structure.

I couldn't load up yesterday's blip of the Superyacht race until today as I didn't have the wifi code in the place I was staying. It was good to get out on the water again but it's good to be back home again on another hot hot day. Sorry I haven't been able to comment much in the past few days. It's always difficult when I'm out and about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.