Wallbridge lock in the evening

Going into town to the council office this morning was a pleasure, dressed in shorts and a shirt, with the sun shining from a blue sky and seemingly a spring in everyone's step. I had a small official meeting, after which I was able to catch up with a colleague, who has just returned to work, and we were able to discuss some pressing council business.

I then strolled up to see the progress of the building works at Lansdown Hall, which was very good to see. I think the necessary investment will be much appreciated. It was good to see young families enjoying sitting in the sunny gardens beside the Hall, on a bank below the town's church, with everyone so relaxed. I then bumped into Clive in the wholefood shop, where I was buying pumpkin seeds, whom I hadn't seen for many months, and we had a good natter together.

Later I had time to sit in the sun in the garden at home, before I became superheated, and in between short drives to take Helena to work and back. After dinner I headed off to another meeting, this time about the canal re-development, which had been arranged to be in the Cotswold Canal Trust Visitor Centre at Wallbridge, that I have featured on many occasions. My reservations were shared by the other participants, which hopefully means we can henceforth focus all of our involvement in this important project, and its impact on the future developments of the whole canal to the town and adjacent parishes.

When I arrived, Clive and his wife Jill, who work together there, welcomed us and sensibly suggested that we move the meeting out to the small garden by the newly re-opened Wallbridge lock. The light from the setting sun was gorgeous and I quickly grabbed a couple of shots. I had hoped the one with Jill in the picture would have been the best, but I had my focus all wrong. So here is where we spent the next couple of hours thrashing out 'stuff', and the mission was accomplished.

ps
I think the rather unfortunate metal barriers are only temporary. An H and S issue I gather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.