From Pulpit Hill, Oban across to the Sound of Mull

The holiday has been interrupted today by the need to help out in the house clearing of Helena's mum's home. I managed to go to Oban this afternoon to do some shopping, taking some of the kids as well to keep them happy.

I had a short interlude between dropping them and going to a supermarket, so I drove up a narrow road above the ferry terminal to see where it led me. I hoped I might get a view out over the harbour or possibly towards Mull. My luck was in when I found the end of the road was a local viewpoint called Pul;pit Hill. I had to climb up onto the benches to get a clearer view over the tops of the trees on the hillside.

This view is looking across the Sound of Kerrera, from Oban harbour, just beyond the right hand side of the picture, and then up the Sound of Mull into the distance. The clouds were scudding and brought brief interludes of shadows across the whole scene at varying intervals.

Hopefully we will be on one of the ferries to Mull after the weekend, one of which you can see approaching the entrance to Oban harbour in the right foreground. The whole scene looked fantastic today with the wide expanse of sky, land and sea showing the local scenery off to great advantage. I can't not blip these landscape views when they are so impressive.

Now as I look out of the bedroom window, where I have set up my computer, the water is lapping at the top of the beach about fifteen yards away, and high tide is nearly here. I want to try to film the Falls of Lora, beneath Connel Bridge, where the tide forms large rapids as it flows in and out of Loch Etive into the Sound of Mull over the outcropping rocks. YThat will be be for the morrow possibly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.