tales of alice

By alilicey

Florence day 2

Go to the start of my trip here.

14th July 2012 ?23.50

We woke up early to try and beat the queues at the Uffizi. I only had a banana to eat and seemed to miss all supermarkets on the walk. The queue was long and they let 40 people in every 30 minutes. It went faster than I expected. In our last 80 minutes we got talking to a Mexican aunt and niece who were travelling around ?pe via car, as they explained the 40 people, 30 minute rule and I asked where they were from It was so interesting to hear about Mexico. The niece was getting married next year and the aunt's husband was a doctor, so interesting too. We also met two Glaswegians on entering. The Uffizi was ?5.50 with UK driving licence (because we were EU citizens between the age of 18-25)

The view from the south corridor is GORGEOUS. I was getting so hungry (one banana doesn't go far) and we had been on our feet for so long, so lunch was NEEDED. After a little hunt to find something GF, I found a little deli place where the man (?4) made me a rice dish with tomato sauce stuff, sundried tomatoes, courgettes and cheese. Was incredible - best thing I've eaten so far. We sat and rested for a bit. (I also bought two postcards (?2)).

Then we headed to Ponte Vecchio, the jewellery is so, so beautiful. It is a bridge lined with jewellery shops. If only you were rich! We decided ice cream called and found a place to sit inf for ?2.50. I had mint and caramel. As always, delicious. Then headed down past a palace, bought a diet Coke (oddly my first fizzy drink of the trip, ?r1.20). Found this vintage shop that Fiona fell in love with. There were lots of lovely things but none I could be bothered carrying home with me. We decided to return tomorrow.

We strolled slowly back to the hostel as it was around 4 pm and we were getting tired. We passed this handmade jewellery shop that I fell in love with. So many gorgeous earrings. I bidded also to return tomorrow. Had shower and nap then headed back to Eby's Bar at 7:30 ish. I had nachos, Sarah and fiona burritos - ironic, Spanish food in Italy. (?5) After we walked back to the Duomo, a woman was doing opera singing on the street. We listened and enjoyed. We got flyered for a bar selling three cocktails for ?10 and thought, why not have a gander. Enjoyed our drinks, tried to make chat with two Coventry boys who were dire chat and headed back. As always had great chat before bed about the oddest things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.