Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Monsieur Bleu

I was all set to head about an hour north for a walk with my naturalist group this morning...but the bluebirds changed all my plans.  When I put fresh mealworms out this morning, I noticed that although both parents loaded up with beaks full of mealies, they weren't taking them to the nest.  Instead, they were sitting on a branch about 10 feet away, calling to the youngsters.  This could only mean one thing - it was time to fledge!

Apparently the kids had different ideas and stubbornly stayed inside their (very hot) nest box, refusing to even come to the door.  Finally Madame and Monsieur started feeding them again.  I suspect we'll go through the same drill tomorrow morning, hopefully with a better result.  I plan to stay here home, camera lens aimed at the box, hoping to record their first voyage into the world.  

Meanwhile, I think the 'dees, in the front of the house, are also about to fledge.  I foresee a lot of running hither and dither tomorrow.  

It seems like we've gone from chilly to summer in the space of a week.  Our temps today approached 90 F and more of the same is expected over the next several days.  I feel bad for the birds, who are all showing signs of heat.  Unable to sweat, as we humans do, they have to keep their beaks open to regulate their internal temperatures - just like alligators, actually.  

Two other pics on Flickr, starting HERE with a shot of Madame. and following up with a thermoregulating Common Grackle.

The female hummingbirds have been quietly coming and going, which means they are on nests now.  It seems like we just have one male at the moment, so things are relatively quiet.  The ladies are all knocked up and there are no rival males, so P-Hummie just eats and hangs out looking handsome.  Basically, his work is done for now - his next job will be when the young fledge and he feels the need to chase them ALL away from HIS feeders.  

Today's photo is untouched.  I was sitting so close when Monsieur landed that I didn't even need to crop this.  And he is just so beautiful that he really doesn't need any other enhancements!

Happy Thursday, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.