Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flower Friday with something extra

P-Hummie makes regular visits to the nectar feeder on our deck - usually about every 5 minutes during the day.  This morning after he had a quick swig, he zoomed down to the patio where I have a small Mexican Sage that's just started to bloom.  Apparently it meets with P's approval.  Anyway, not a great image as it's heavily cropped, but it's my pick for today.  And thanks, as always to Anni (aka BikerBear) for hosting Flower Friday.

I planted 30 new native flowers in my garden this morning - it was a flat I'd ordered from a company in the midwest that sells all native plants.  Anyway, they are all 6+ inches high and many of them should produce blooms this year.  Things in the new garden are slowly coming together.  

After my morning of gardening, I had myself a little macro safari around the garden.  In spite of it being windy, I found quite a few interesting specimens, two of my favorites on Flickr:
A very cool looking Robber Fly
and
A bubble-blowing bee
I do love photographing insects!

The bluebirds are continuing to bring an amazing array of insects and spiders to their nestlings.  At one point today, I saw Madame with a big green larva, a spider AND a spider egg-sack all in her beak.  Doesn't get much better than that, eh?

Didn't go over to see MIL today but Hubs took her out for a while this morning and said she was in good spirits.  He'll stop over to see her for a while tonight too.

An otherwise uneventful day.  Which isn't a bad thing.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.