But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Geranium.

It was veritably hissing down with rain today when the forecast was for a cool morning and a warmer afternoon; I wonder what went wrong with that one.
 
So I started playing, as one does, with macro setups for photographing butterflies and discovered that my tele-zoom lens focuses close enough when fully extended to cope with the subject at a reasonable size and distance. The geranium on the window ledge was the target for the experiment and turned out to be the most useful thing I photographed today, albeit from the far side of the room..
 
I ended up tinkering about with noise reduction and sharpening as I’ve been reading about them recently; but since theory somehow failed to agree with practice so I ended up annoying Photoshop until it gave me something that I thought might be acceptable. I’m reminded of Andy Capp, a comic strip character in an otherwise pointless newspaper from the days of my youth who, having been upset by reading about all the nasty things booze and fags did to his body, announced that he was giving up reading.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.