Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Witches beware - Flower Friday

I was back at the local 'asylum' memorial garden today to get some pictures of pupils from the local high school who are helping with an 'improvement' project.

Having got some shots of the gardening, I went down to the small wood which is part of the project, where I discovered swathes of wild garlic on my first visit (blip of 12th May).

Some are beginning to set seed and although the wide snow-like drifts are impressive I think the individual flowers are quite beautiful. The soft but insistent aroma is wonderful and this time I took a bag to bring some leaves home for a salad. I thought it had to be a Flower Friday blip.

I put a legacy Olympus OM lens, 35mm f2.8, on the Fuji X-Pro1, and was brave enough to leave the modern Fuji 35mm at home (this time remembering to put a battery in the camera!).

Last time I shot wild garlic was three years ago in the 'forgotten' smallest Yorkshire Dale, the beautiful Washburn Valley. Then I shot it with the Olympus OM4 and 50mm OM lens I blipped four days ago, on black and white film. The result prompted a haiku which accompanied it on the blog I published at the time. Here it is.

Witches     tread with care

Beware our bouquet      spiky

Healthy human food

Thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.