The High Street nearly resurfaced

I had a morning in town today as I have been co-opted onto the town council's Lansdown Hall Working Group.  Until the recent election I had been chairing this group ever since it was formed five years ago and the two other councillors were also voted off the council. I offered to provide some continuity so that the next phase of the building's regeneration can be implemented smoothly, but I was rather surprised when I was asked to act as chair again for this meeting.  Apparently they will choose a new chair from the councillors when they all can attend the next meeting. All went well.

I had to do some last minute shopping and organising for our trip tomorrow so ended up walking about the town and saw the resurfacing work on the High Street is nearing completion.  As I stood at the bottom of the hill at the junction with Lansdown this workman was organising the use of a crane to unload the delivery of materials.  He asked if I was from the press, and I said 'no, I am just interested'. I told him how impressed I was with the quality of the workmanship and the huge improvement of the new street surfacing, combining stone flags and granite edging blocks and a good tarmac base for a proper driving surface to be laid next week. He was very pleased and chuffed that their work was appreciated.

Then it was home to a mad bout of chores before getting ready for a pre-dawn drive to the airport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.