wrperry

By wrperry

Titmouse Family

My mother passed away six days ago and I feel like I'm finally coming out of the fog.  It has been an incredibly long week.  We all endure family losses,  and this fresh personal experience has reminded me of what is truly important.  I am so thankful for my amazing husband, children, other family members and friends.  I felt ready to get my camera out again, and the Tufted Titmouse family that has taken up residence in our new Wood Duck house was the perfect subject.  This house was a gift from a friend last fall, and we were anxiously awaiting house guests this spring.  When the titmice moved in we left them alone, because there will be construction nearby that the ducks wouldn't have appreciated.  The size of the house must be considered a mansion by titmouse standards.  All week I've been watching the parents feed the chicks.  These green worms, and damselflies, seem to be the preferred diet.  Watching this little family has been the perfect distraction while my little family recovers from a loss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.