Searching for breakfast

This poaka (pied stilt) was busily looking in the tidal pools before the incoming water swamped them. I saw it stab into the water a number of times; unsure how successfully. The sun was casting golden light as the clouds were low on the horizon, and actual sunrise was quite late.

In the same pool was a bird which appeared a little smaller than the poaka, and with a short bill. Suspecting it of being a tuturiwhatu (dotterel) I got as close as I could, and managed to take the extra photo as it ran off somewhat daintily. It is the New Zealand Dotterel, which is relatively common and is "holding its own" in the North Island. I now realise that it is the biggest of the dotterels, and in the body it is almost as big as the poaka.

It was a good morning for me. I made the decision to try a run. It has been a couple of months since my last attempt to resume running had made my left leg rather sore. This morning's run was pain free. I saw and photographed a kotare (kingfisher), a number of tarapunga (red-billed gulls), as well as these two. The photographer was limited by only having the Nikon, so I feel I did okay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.