What the FAF?

I have spent the day immersed in sound. Loud sound. People sound. Living on campus, adjacent to the three main areas of activity for this year's Fine Arts Festival - which is really more of a summer fête with candy floss and hotdogs, "fun" stuff stalls and activities and, as the evening approaches, rock groups in the arena known as 'the Maze' that is directly behind and below my bedroom windows (after intermittent sound checks all afternoon). Nowhere to run on a day when peace and quiet would have been welcome. Instead, after a morning disturbed by noisy neighbours, I gladly spent a little time this afternoon as the backstage supervisor for the annual Latin and Tango Dance Festival performance that coincided (deliberately) with this year's FAF.  Five Istanbul schools participated and the whole event finished with a professional duo showcasing a very fine Tango giving me my backstage blipfoto for the day, after which I wandered around in the sunshine looking (unsuccessfully) for photo opportunities of people doing interesting things, until feeling hot and bothered I came home,  closed all my windows and sat steaming in 30ºC.  It isn't that the noise is overly loud and it's only once a year - and I so want to not mind - but bad timing - hours of drums and bass and guitars and vocals and screaming enthusiastic teenagers, at the end of a very tiring six days, at the end of a very tiring month, at 19.00 knowing it ain't over yet (not until about 22.00) on a day when it was too noisy to work (lots of academic reading and writing on my 'to do' list) too hot to do housework and too ratty to rest ..... so, my creative problem solving skills leap to the fore. Break out the beer. Sorted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.