Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Western Screech Owl

A few days ago I posted a pair of these owls in the tree a house away.  We thought at the time those were the only two tiny owls we'd see this year.  When I went over this morning, I saw the same pair in the tree but they were quite well hidden behind branches and leaves.

Michele, the owner of the property came out and told me there was one in the short palm which falls over into her yard from the town home that separates us.  But this guy, with his quite disapproving gaze, was on the rafter of her patio. 

He was hooting (first time I've heard one) and flapping his wings.  I put up two extras.  In the first, he seems to be questioning our presence. He looks like he may be a little fearful in the second.

You've just got to love the expressions on owls!  They are amazing birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.