The Mountains of Arran

I hadn' quite realised just how big the Isle of Arran was, so I rather impulsively hired a car so we could see a little more. The weather was forecast to brighten up so climbing Goatfell was planned for the afternoon so we took a tour around the island, the road hugs the coast as the interior is quite rugged. We visited the beautiful castle at Loughranza, drove through pretty villages hugging the coast and then walked inland to the rich archaeological landscape of Machrie Moor.
The sun did duly appear and after some refreshment we headed off on the steady climb up to Goat Fell. The views were stunning, the trees so fresh with their new leaves. Lots of wild flowers to identify but unfortunately the mist hung over the summit and refused to budge. As the path was good we climbed to the top and imagined the views!! I have included some extras today.
I seem unable to add extra images on the iPad so I'll have to save that until I'm home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.