Gitama's World

By Gitama

Skara Brae...Hat Theif & Water Divining

I found it really difficult to really get a picture that could capture the essence of Skara Brae. (extras)...I tried my best.....and to be fair to date I haven't see one yet...except for the one on the front of the Historical Scotland Booklet....that comes close.
I found it difficult to grasp the just how long ago this place was built.
I am still lost for words at the 'elegance'...(yes I know not a word to describe Neolithic stuff) in the way this place was built. I think this would of been rather comfortable living in this place so many years ago.
As you have probably guessed I am not one for the facts but rather my feelings on places. My imagination was immersed in all sorts of wonderful visions of what it could be like...I probably didn't even come close to the reality.

Looking up to Skaill House (extra) I couldn't help but notice the grey and foreboding walls...it reminded me of Wuthering Heights......it had a cold and uninviting look....a place that held a lot of misery....hahahahahah.....the inside was quite different however......richly appointed rooms.....inviting and warm.......perhaps too much for me....a bit stuffy......I preferred to be around the site in the cool air.
I thought of my Dad whilst I was here...how much he would love it. Peter has got me buying brochures of every place that we go....which has been a great idea cause I can spend time with Dad when I get home and take him to one place at a time....my pics and the history.

We had a funny time at the Falconry....they are just starting out (a family affair) so they were just bumbling along really........I loved it....Mum collected the money.....the dog greeted everyone as they came in....Dad fumbled about in the bird cages and Lewis was just a joy (main pic......Lewis and Derek).
The dog was absolutely smitten with me....I am wondering if I smelled like Rumi......she did keep putting her head in and nuzzling my hat...when I got up  take a pic she stole it ....(much to everyones delight and the family horror) and started running around...there was no way she was going to give it back. I could see she was wanting to really give it a good chew...jeez! I finally got it back (after much coaxing and the promise of treats) covered in dog slobber.......if you go to the falconry at Skaill house be warned.

We stopped off for more supplies....after being turned away at several restaurants we decided to have dinner in......which I was really happy about because I have to say that everything has been catching up with me and I was just so tired ........ the poor old body is starting to creak...I needed an early night. 
On the way home from Kirkwall we stopped off at the standing stones...just to see how they looked amongst the clouds. I didn't get much time to take pics as I met a bloke who was water divining. Having done a bit of it myself we got to chatting and he handed over his brass and bronze divining rods ( I used to use coat hangers) and found out which way the water flowed under the stones ..how deep and wide it was.......we were both 'mostly' in agreement.....I deferred to his expertise though. 

The weather closed in and everything became lovely and misty after our most beautiful clear sunny skies of the morning.......I was secretly happy as we wouldn't be tempted to do a midnight run looking for other wonderful things to take pics of.
I did....go to bed early that is....thank goodness...I finally got 8 hours sleep.

Sleepyheads viewpoint of the day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.