... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Return of the Pin

Less lost in large.

18 months ago, I blipped my tufted duck pin; it had been a birthday present from an NHM friend several years before, and lived on my lapel as a happy reminder of friends, NHM times, and (of course) tufted ducks.

I lost my tufted duck while walking in Kent last November, and felt rather bereft; I bought a stand-in shelduck (the Egyptian goose's closest relative among the RSPB pins) which was sweet but felt like a bit of a stop-gap...

More recently, friends in Oxford very kindly gave me a Barnacle goose pin that they spotted whilst away on holiday (mentioned here). 

Now, coming full circle, MinBannister spotted this at the RSPB's Big Nature Festival, thought of me, and super-kindly gave it to me (via Royal Mail). What a wonderful surprise it was to find it in the post; I'm thrilled and feel so touched. It obviously isn't the same pin, but it serves to remind me of the same things, as well as the kindness of blipfriends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.