Mono Monday : Art

The art of photography... old stylee.

This old Ensign camera took size 20 film** - whatever that was - and was bought from Cyril Howe's in Bath. It can take instant or 'timed' (bulb) photographs and has a front lens which moves in and out, but whether that effects any focusing I can't say. It's lived in my garage for the last fifteen years and is engraved to 'Irene', who I think was my step-father's first wife.

It's a desperation blip really, after a night of very little sleep (i.e. none) having collected Charlie from the festival in the early hours of this morning then poured her into a train back to manchester for tomorrow's last but one exam. In the afternoon I recklessly began cementing in the blocks for the new garden pond, and now I think it's time for an early night.

** additional: My friend Michael on Facebook tells me "Type 20 was a Polaroid Roll film, but it didn't come out until '65. This camera is a lot older than that and it makes a 2.5X3.25" negative so likely modern 120 film would work fine (or even 620 if you can find it...the only real difference is the size of the spool...620 spools are smaller.)" I was relying for my information on a label that is stuck in the film compartment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.