1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Mono Monday 123: Art

Jewellery's a form of art, right?

I had to work this afternoon, but spent some time this morning supporting my friend, Helen. We've been friends since high school and I've spent many a happy hour/night in the house she was born and grew up in. Sadly her dad died many years ago, and her mum has recently had to go into a home where she can be cared for now she has dementia. The house is provisionally sold.

Today, the village in which the house stands had a vintage transport and open garage sale day. ( I didn't know about the transport bit. I've now heard there were Morris Minors there, but missed them ).

It was hard for Helen to see things she's grown up with being sold, but even though there are 4 siblings, they can't keep everything. Reluctantly, I had to leave at lunchtime, but I came away with a Pirex dish with a lid ( must try not to break this one ), 3 nice whisky glasses and this broach. Oh, and a little blue jug with Bude written on it ( we had a lovely holiday there in 1983 ). All of these things will be little reminders of our friendship and good times in a place I was always made very welcome in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.