Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

A gift

This photo feels like a gift - did you ever have that sense? I was just returning from the daily scoot with a few photos that I was moderately happy with when this dragonfly flew right by my head, then landed in the grapevine next to the cottage door. I fired off a few quick, pretty bad shots, thinking it wouldn't stick around long and I at least wanted to document that I finally saw a dragonfly this summer!

But it hung around for a long time. It moved to another leaf for a few minutes, then another; I was able to get right up next to it to click a bunch of photos. (Powercut had a similar experience today, and swore "his" dragonfly was intrigued with him and watching back - I think "mine" was posing.)

I really like this shot of its underside. There are more in this Google album, with some full body shots. The wings are exquisite, and the patterns on the body incredible.

And please look LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.