The Way I See Things

By JDO

Celebration

It's hard to believe that we've been macro-maniacs for a year now - in fact a year and a month, if you add on last year's May Macro Mayhem, which started the whole thing. I'm not trying to claim any credit for it, of course, (I'm sure variations on this conversation happened with many other people), but I do remember WWombat asking me if I thought anyone would take her up on a macro challenge, should she decide to start one - to which my reply was something along the lines of "If you build it, they will come."

And she did, and we all grabbed our extension tubes and macro lenses and filters, and dived in - and what fun we've had! Personally I tend to stick to bugs and flowers (literally, sometimes), but having hosted the challenge a couple of times I've been struck by the range of things which become more interesting from being photographed at close quarters, and isbi's comment that if you have a macro lens you're never without a blip has certainly turned out to be true in my case.

This week WWombat has suggested that our macros should be celebratory, and after giving the matter some thought I remembered this set of glass tags, which R and I bought a few years ago in the hope that they would allow members of our extended family to keep track of their own champagne glasses on Christmas Day. In fact we have never once used them, because:

1. We laugh in the face of germs in this house; and

2. The thought of any member of our family casually abandoning unconsumed food or drink is frankly laughable - you're far more likely to have to prise a champagne glass from a ferocious claw-like grip than to need to reunite it with its careless owner.

Still, you never know - we might yet take up Gracious Living, and if we do we have the glass tags all ready. And a nice bottle stopper with a blown glass top (also thus far unused).

Congratulations, B, on setting up this lovely challenge and keeping it going for a year. And many happy returns of the day week!

P.S. Thank you for sending Mrs Robin to Page 1 of Pops. I was surprised, but delighted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.