DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

All set

Mum's op went really well. She text me just after 2pm to say she was heading to theatre and was 'bricking it'!

They'd said it would take about 3 hours, but she was done after only 1.5 hours.
As she had an epidural, recovery time was minimal so she was soon back on the ward.
She said she didn't really know what had happened as they'd sedated her as well as giving the epidural; probably as well or she would have nattered all the way through it.

I left work early to go and visit her; I didn't think she should be alone after her op and she looked a bit deflated when I got to the ward; her face lit up when she saw me.
She was as bright as a button and looked the best I've seen her since Sunday, which is encouraging for her recovery.

The leg is just in a temporary 'stirrup' of plaster for now; the permanent one will be done just before she's discharged.

Occupational health have been to visit her today and have made a list of things she will need to assist her once she's back home.

I'm knackered! In between working and visiting, I'm also acting as patient liaison officer and organising who wants to visit and when. With friends visiting her in the afternoons, it means my sister can have a break and sort the kids out, then I visit at night. Her turn will come at the weekend when we are away!

When I get a minute, I'll catch up with comments and journals; my head is up my arse at the moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.