Skiers’ Delight

Porters skifield has benefitted from another fall of snow on the mountains. Since I have never been up there I’m having trouble interpreting the subtle features. When the photo is seen large I can see the roads, the chairlift coming down from the top, and another lower down to the right. Or is that a row of power poles? To the left of the shadow top right there are tracks in the snow- skis or groomer? And is that an avalanche line down the main slope? I have no guesses for the shadow that looks like a squashed rat.

Porters is at the eastern end of the Craigieburn Range, which is deeper into the Southern Alps than the Torlesse Range. I took this photo from about 30 km away as the bird might fly.

In the extra shot Ben More is looking cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.