An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Emily...

Archive Blip
 
My not so little God-daughter arrived into the world.  All 9 and a half pounds of her!  
 
I wasn't long in work that morning when I got the phone call from her dad to tell me she had arrived.  Mum (my best friend Agnes)  and baby doing well.
 
Given that I worked just round the corner from the old Glasgow Maternity Hospital (it is no more) it was impossible to wait till evening visiting and I sneaked round in my lunch hour.
 
I gave birth to Alan at the same hospital almost two years earlier and this was the first time I'd been back since the day Alan was discharged.  Given all the trauma and negligence surrounding Alan's birth, I felt quite emotional walking back through the hospital's main entrance but getting to the maternity ward and having this precious little bundle placed in my arms chased all the negative feelings away. 
 
I was totally besotted from the moment I gently squished her soft little body in my arms and those bright little eyes gazed in my direction.  She was so alert from the outset, hours old but already intensely curious about the strange new world she found herself in.
 
Eighteen years down the line and she is every bit as alert and clever and talented.  Her goal in life is to be an actor on stage and she's been working hard towards her dream since she was a young child.  
 
She's moving to Edinburgh to begin second year of a drama degree course and hopes to apply to the Royal Conservatoire in Glasgow next year, although I suspect a move to London may happen sooner rather than later.
 
I love her beyond measure and hope she remembers her old auntie in her first Bafta award speech :-))
 
 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.