Peru, Wales and the future of work

Hay is full of quirky shops and the unexpected. This morning I got stopped by Joanne who runs a pop up shop selling Peruvian clothes during the Festival.
 
Why Peru?
 
“Well, I always wanted to travel.  I left Wales to got o India, then Australia and New Zealand and on to Argentine and into Peru. That’s where I met the man I later married.”
 
 Today they run a business selling hand made Peruvian clothes around fairs, and market stalls in Wales.
 
Back at the Festival Richard and Daniel and  Susskind, authors of the”The Future of the Professions: How Technology will transform the work of human experts” talked about their controversial book.
 
I think its fair to say that it left many in the audience stunned as they revealed how computers were moving into the world of law, education, medicine, finance and media making the model of todays professions redundant.
 
They were highly critical of today educational system saying it prepared people for life in the 20th century not the 21st.
 
Only the timescale for these changes is unknown. Maybe ten years. Or twenty. What is not in any doubt is that they are coming.
 
But not just the professions. One anxious young man asked:” I am an actor in ten years time will I still have a job?”
 
 
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.