Journey Through Time

By Sue

Water Lily Shadows

Not sure if I knocked your socks off, but I tried. LOL

This was Bill's favorite water lily that we saw today at Hughes' Water Garden which is 45 min to 1 hour south of us, depending on traffic. And what is up with Portland traffic? It's awful. We got auntie and went to the garden which specializes in water gardens, as per the name of their business, and it's a photographer's dream. I didn't think the lilies were as good as last year, but, still...wow, what a treat. I encourage any Blipper living in the area to look them up, take your camera, go there and have fun.

This is my favorite. When we were there last year the dragonflies were all over the place. This trip I didn't see very many, so was thrilled when this little one landed on a water lily.

This pink and white lily was in the running for top dog. This reflection is my contribution for an artsy image. This is because the white lily really didn't come out very well, but the reflection was kind of fun. This lotus was really pretty also. And I better show you this blue lily as it was really pretty.

This is all I will put in Blipfolio but I will but all my photos on Flickr, if you want to look at them. I have the photos out of order. I don't know how to fix that. Oh well, we shall muddle through. What you see first are some of the orchids at the Cornell Farm place.

The really gorgeous water lilies are called tropical water lilies and the greenhouse where they are is very hot and humid tropical. I was drenched in minutes with sweat perspiration.

After that we found a nifty little cafe to have lunch in, with home made pizza, sandwiches, salads, etc. Mediterranean style. Also they have a fun assortment of soups and I had a cold fruit soup, Kiwi Lime Pear. Sweet and different. And I enjoyed the flavors of Greece on my slice of pizza. Yum. A fun little place run by two older women in a strip mall kind of situation, but in the nicer part of town, near Lake Oswego. My aunt and I were oooing and awwing over the garden that is downtown Lake Oswego. Really, it's like driving through a park. She wondered why her part of town wasn't like that. We said, well, these guys pay way more in taxes.

Then Bill wanted to take us to this garden nursery that he saw once...so we threaded our way through traffic to a place called Cornell Farms, and boy, is this place nice. Just a gorgeous place to visit.

Then, we fought traffic again to get auntie back to her apartment and us home. WHERE ARE ALL THESE PEOPLE GOING ON A WEDNESDAY! DURING THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY. Don't they work? No wonder I don't go to the places I used to go to anymore.

So, I hope you liked my images today. Something a little different. Thanks for looking.

See ya later, my dear Blippers. Stay safe.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.