Journey Through Time

By Sue

Vole

A vole is a small rodent resembling a mouse but with a stouter body, a shorter, hairy tail, a slightly rounder head, smaller ears and eyes, and differently formed molars (high-crowned and with angular cusps instead of low-crowned and with rounded cusps). There are approximately 155 species of voles. They are sometimes known as meadow mice or field mice in North America. Vole species form the subfamily Arvicolinae with the lemmings and the muskrats. Wikipedia

I saw this critter at the Wildlife Botanical Garden, and since the hummers didn't cooperate with me, then I think I'll give this little Vole the spotlight. I did really like a few of my other photos, but they are not loading into Blipfolio for some stupid reason. Since I finally upgraded to a Pro Account on Flickr...might as well use it. The rest of today's shots are here. I really liked the photo with the mustard/dill plant. They have them growing here and there and they are quite big and so feathery and really pretty. Who knew?

A gorgeous day, except for it being quite hazy. Forest fire smoke in Alaska got caught up in the last little weather system that rolled through here a few days ago and it brought the smoke with it.

Looking forward to the Olympics. Very proud that the young lady who will be marching in holding the American Flag in front of our team is from the Portland area. She excels at fencing and has already won gold and been in two Olympics, I believe. Her mother, they say on the news, was frantically trying to get a ticket to get to the games since she found out the honor bestowed on her daughter. Hope she makes it!!

Gonna go do a bit of work now. Have a good day dear Blippers and THANK YOU SO MUCH for the kind words on the water lily and leaving me with lots of stars and hearts. Always a nice feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.