Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

PERIJEMAAN

Words could never describe the feelings inside me that stir when looking at this photograph.

Today we visited my Uncle P and Auntie R. They're not blood Uncle and Auntie, but they are family. For years I grew up with them living next door to my Nana & Grandad. The weekends that I spent with my Dad, would often be spent on Uncle P's boat or at their house looking at the various animals Uncle P had. New Years Eve was spent at their house, there would be a talent show, singing, comedy show and Dad getting very drunk!

It was great to see them today, I'm feeling extremely emotional thinking over the lovely day we have had. It was quality time chatting, helping serve food and watching the children play. I don't see them anywhere near as often as I would like to, but yet, when we do get together, it's like it was only yesterday that we last saw them.

I stood listening to my Uncle P telling the girls his comical rhymes and stories, I watched him tricking the girls with his napkin animals and I watched my Auntie R admire the girls various "shows". These are the exact same things that Uncle P and Auntie R would do for us when my brother and I were little. For my girls to experience a taste of the happiness Uncle P and Auntie R gave to us when we were little, is more than I could ever wish for.

Thank you Uncle P and Auntie R for all of the love you have given me from such a young age; thank you for being the caring, thoughtful and creative people you are and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your lives. I love you both more than I could ever put into words. xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.