Don't Worry-I'm a Pro

By AllenFreeman

Lens Testing - Bokeh on A7RII

Check out my blog to read about my testing of various Nikon F mount (and a few other brands) lenses on the A7RII camera with a simple cheap adapter. http://masterphotographyblog.blogspot.com It was a beautiful day outside (especially in the shade). I sat this steampunk figurehead on the wall of the back patio so you could see some things out in the background. Then I shot with various lenses to see how much blurry background I could create. (Bokeh: the blurry background area) I'd seen some videos on YouTube comparing some expensive 85mm lenses so I tried to see what I could produce with what I already have. Many of these lenses are manual focus only but with my cheap adapter I can only use all my lenses with it in manual focus. Except for the Sony 24-240 lens I bought at the same time as the camera. But on the Sony A7RII it has a focus peaking feature. This shows you live as you are focusing what is in focus with some color outline and pixels dancing around in the areas that are in sharp focus. You can swap out the color of these helpers....I had it on red. As I focus the red starts to cover around what I want in focus and I snap the shot. It's great, and makes manually focusing fun, actually. Oh, and how the background looks is a matter of taste but most seem to prefer rounded circle effects.....over just mushy blur. Except when it's creamy and soft mush, that is......ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.